Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Exploratorium : Skill Literacy

This is the LibGuide for the 610 Public Library Group.

Introduction

This section is a collection of materials about building and enhancing skill literacy, specifically focusing on children. The resources are from various sources, including fiction, non-fiction, databases, and online journals. While the collection can be used by adults who wish to develop these skills in their children and patrons, a majority of this collection is aimed at the children themselves and helping them to develop their skills and curiosities through a variety of topics and formats. 

Books

Google Book Search

Pencils, Pens & Brushes A Great Girls' Guide to Disney Animation by Mindy Johnson 

ISBN: 1368028683

Publication Date: 2019-08-13

Johnson, M. (2019). Pencils, Pens & Brushes: A Great Girls' Guide to Disney Animation. United States: Disney Press.

This inspiring book, Pencils, Pens, & Brushes, shares the stories of the women who worked for and with Walt Disney as story writers, characters drawers, and animators. This book is a great inspiration for young children who wish to develop their creative skills, especially in writing, drawing, and animation. 

Reviews/Endorsements 


The Total Inventor's Mannual: Transform Your Idea into a Top-Selling Product by Sean Michael Ragan 

ISBN: 168188433X

Publication Date: 2017-01-10  

Ragan, S. M. (2017). The Total Inventors Manual (Popular Science): Transform Your Idea Into a Top-Selling Product. United States: Weldon Owen.

The Total Inventors Manual encourages the young and curious to turn their ideas into reality and provides the guide to becoming an innovator. This book will help the children to explore their creativity and even turn their ideas into reality. 

Reviews/Endorsements


 

Plant, Sow, Make, & Grow: Mud-tastic Activities For Budding Gardeners by Esther Coombs

ISBN1787080250

Publication Date: 2019-08-01

Coombs, E. (2019). Plant, Sow, Make and Grow: Mud-Tastic Activities for Budding Gardeners. United Kingdom: Button Books.

Plant, Sow, Make, & Grow presents 38 garden projects for young aspiring gardeners. The activities included in the book incorporate garden how-tos and STEAM-oriented DIY projects that would be a great asset to the collection.

 

Reviews/Endorsements 

  • Kirkus Reviews, Volume LXXXVII, June 15, 2019

 

CODE THIS! Puzzles, Games, Challenges, and Computer Coding Concepts for the Problem Solver in You by Jennifer Szymanski

ISBN1426334435

Publication Date: 2019-08-26

Szymanski, J. (2019) CODE THIS! Puzzles, Games, Challenges, anc Computer Coding Concepts for the Problem Solver in You, United States, National Geographic Children's Books. 

CODE THIS! is a puzzle-based introduction book to computer-programming concepts for kids. Even better, this book does not require access to a computer, which makes this book highly appealing to families from all background and home situations. 

 

Reviews/Endorsements 

  • Kirkus Reviews, Volume LXXXVII (Volume 12), June 15, 2019

 

Discovering Architecture by Eduard Altarriba and Berta Bardi i Mila 

ISBN1787080293

Publication Date: 2019-09-10

Altariba, E, Milá I Bardí, B. I. (2019). Discovering Architecture. United Kingdom: Button Books.

Discovering Architecture is a crash course in world architecture aimed at young readers. This book provides a basis of architectural knowledge through its wonderful illustrations and wide range of case studies and is a valuable addition to the collection. 

 

Reviews/Endorsements 

  • Kirkus Reviews, Volume LXXXVII (Volume 16), August 15, 2019

 

How Do Computers Follow Instructions? by J. T. Liso 

ISBN1486716520

Publication Date: 2019-11-05

Liso, J. T. (2019). How Do Computers Follow Instructions?. United States: Flowerpot Press.

How Do Computers Follow Instructions is a great resource for young readers interested in an introduction to programming concepts. With a great glossary and easy to follow lessons, this is a great edition to the collection for curious young minds. 

 

Reviews/Endorsements 

  • Kirkus Reviews, Volume LXXXVII (Volume 16), August 15, 2019

 

Meditation For Kids How to Clear Your Head and Calm Your Mind by Laurent Dupeyrat and Johanne Bernard 

ISBN1611806208

Publication Date: 2019-11-12

Dupeyrat, L., Bernard, J. (2019). Meditation for Kids: How to Clear Your Head and Calm Your Mind. United States: Shambhala Publications, Incorporated.

Meditation for Kids, a guide geared towards young meditators, offers children tips, tricks, and practices for their own meditation practice. This book provides a background of the practice, as well as specific information on 12 different meditation practices that kids can learn. 

 

Reviews/Endorsements 

  • Kirkus Reviews, Volume LXXXVII (Volume 17), September 1, 2019

 

 

The Big Book of Everything You Need to Get The Job Done by Mia Cassany 

ISBN3791374044

Publication Date: 2019-10-22

Cassany, M. (2019). The Big Book of Everything You Need to Get the Job Done. Germany: Prestel Verlag GmbH & Company KG..

Aimed at readers ages 4-7, this visual dictionary provides visuals for apparel, tools, and equipment associated with different jobs, and really is The Big Book of Everything. The book encourages readers to answer questions about careers throughout the book (with answers given at the end).

 

Reviews/Endorsements 

  • Kirkus Reviews, Volume LXXXVII (Volume 18), September 15, 2019

Websites

National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)

NAEYC. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.naeyc.org

NAEYC is a professional membership organization that strives to promote high-quality early learning from birth to age 8. Their goal is to connect early childhood practice, policy, and research to support all who care for, educate, and work on behalf and with young children. 

Reviews/Endorsements


 

National Geographic Kids 

National Geographic Kids (n.d.) Retrieved from https://kids.nationalgeographic.com 

Filled with fun activities, National Geographic Kids helps children to explore animals, see photos of nature, and try out science experiments. There is also a "Little Kids" section for the younger, curious explorers. 

 

Reviews/Endorsements 


 

How Stuff Works

How Stuff Works (n.d.) Retrieved from https://www.howstuffworks.com

How Stuff Works contains articles aimed at kids that break down subjects such as science, technology, auto, and entertainment. Presented in a variety of formats, such as games, quizzes, and videos, kids are enticed to be engaged while they learn and open their mind to new experiences. 

Reviews/Endorsements 


 

Project Here Games

Project Here Games (n.d.) Healthy Resources in Action. Retrieved from http://https//projectheregames.org 

Project Here Games, founded by the Government of Massachusetts, aims to promote healthy decision-making and social-emotional learning in children in grades 6-8. With scenario based experiences intermixed with quizzes and mini-games, players are able to practice and apply critical social and emotional life skills. 

 

Reviews/Endorsements

Journals

Children & Libraries: The Journal of the Association for Library Service to Children 

"Children and Libraries: The Journal of ALSC", American Library Association, February 27, 2017. http://www.ala.org/alsc/publications-resources/cal

Children and Libraries (CAL) the official, referred journal of the Association for LIbrary Service to Children serves to continue education for libraries working with children. This is a great resource for both children's librarians as well as parents and is invaluable to the collection. 


Reviews/Endorsements 


 

Early Childhood Education 

"Early Childhood Education Journal", Springer. 1997. https://www.springer.com/journal/10643 

The Early Childhood Education journal offers recommendations for childhood education from birth to age eight. This journal is a good resource for teachers as well as children's librarians who serve the needs of early childhood development. 

 

Reviews/Endorsements 


 

Young Children 

"​Young Children", National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC). 1964.  https://www.naeyc.org/resources/pubs/yc

 

Young Children, published by the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC), aims to bring together diverse points of view. Their goal is to develop guidelines that define excellence for early childhood professionals and programs.

 

Reviews/Endorsements 

Database

Education Source 

 

https://www.ebsco.com/products/research-databases/education-source

Education Source is a subscription databases that combines databases from EBSCO and H.W. Wilson that contains journals, indexing and abstracting for a variety of periodicals, monographs, conference papers, and more. It is ideal for Academic Libraries, Public Libraries, Corporations, and the Government and is well suited for this collection as it contains related articles and papers that deal with early childhood development and education. 

Reviews/Endorsements 

Videos

Spot on Science

Cavalier, M (n.d.) Spot on Science. Published by Ideastream. 

Spot on Science aims to make conversations about science easy for all users. Aimed at a young audience, the video is captivating and informative while providing answers to users questions and explaining her processes. 

 

Reviews/Endorsements

What Can Skills Look Like?

Magazines

Brainspace 

Brainspace Magazine ( 2017). Ontario, Canada. https://brainspacemagazine.com/

Brainspace, a quarterly publication for kids ages 8-14 with a focus on encouraging kids to explore current topics in STEM. With a dash of pop culture and graphics, this magazine helps to encourage kids to read and learn.

 

Reviews/Endorsements 


 

Illustoria 

Illustoria LLC (2019). https://www.illustoria.com/

This quarterly magazine, Illustoria, focused on kids in grades 2-6, is geared towards creative kids. The magazine celebrates visual storytelling, makers, and DIY culture through stories, art, comics, interviews, crafts, and activities. 

Reviews/Endorsements


 

Kazoo

Kazoo Magazine ( 2019).  https://www.kazoomagazine.com

Kazoo is a quarterly print magazine for girls ages 5 - 12 that celebrates them for being true to themselves, strong, and creative. Filled with puzzles, crafts, information, and activities, this magazine aims to spark inspiration for young girls.

 

Reviews/Endorsements 


 

Beanz 

Beanz Magazine ( 2019).  https://www.kidscodecs.com/

Beanz magazine offers how-to sections for beginner programmers as well as challenging code-based puzzle games for more advanced learners. This is a must have resource for any library who has an audience interested in coding. 

 

Reviews/Endorsements 

Podcasts

Brains On!

Brains On! (2019). Minnesota Public Radio [Audio Podcast] https://www.brainson.org/

Brains On!, an award-winning podcast for children and families, hosts weekly episodes aimed on answering fascinating questions about the world. The show aims to encourage kid's natural curiosity and wonder through science and history. 

 

Reviews/Endorsements 


 

But Why

Lindholm, J. But Why (2019). Vermont Public Radio [Audio Podcast] https://www.vpr.org/programs/why-podcast-curious-kids#stream/0

 

The podcast, But Why, is a biweekly show led by kids for kids. Kids send in the questions, and the podcast aims to answer them. Topics range from words, to nature, or even the end of the world. This award-winning podcast for children and families is a great asset to the skill-literacy collection,

 

Reviews/Endorsements


 

Wow In The World 

Wow In The World (n.d.). National Public Radio. Retrieved from https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510321/wow-in-the-world

Hosts Guy Raz and Mindy Thomas discuss the latest news in science and technology for both kids (ages 5-12) and their grown-ups in Wow in the World. This weekly, 30 minute podcast investigates factual and fascinating real-world phenomena that is geared to keep kids both engaged and curious. 

 

Reviews/Endorsements


 

How Stuff Works, Stuff Media

How Stuff Works (n.d.) Retrieved from https://www.stuffmedia.com/

With more than 25 shows, including Stuff You Should Know and Cabinet of Curiosities, How Stuff Works aims to bring new information to interested listeners of all ages. This is a great resource for curious listeners to use, especially given their wide range of podcast topics. 

 

Reviews/Endorsements

Sources

  • Brereton, E. (n.d.) Review of National Geographic Kids. Common Sense Media https://www.commonsensemedia.org/website-reviews/national-geographic-kids
  • Crawford, E (2018). Review of Beanz magazine. Parent's Choice Awards. http://archive.parentschoice.org/product.cfm?product_id=35458&award=aw 
  • Dar, M., Diaz, S. M., Farrell, D., Grabarek, D., Parrott, K., Toth, L., & Turner, K. (2016, October 18). Browse This! Great Magazines for Kids and Teens. Retrieved from https://www.slj.com/?detailStory=browse-this-great-magazines-for-kids-and-teens.
  • Drake, L (n.d.) Early Childhood Education: Finding Articles in Young Children Libguide. Spokane Fall College. https://libguides.spokanefalls.edu/c.php?g=288669&p=1925976 
  • Green, C (2018) Review of Spot on Science video. Parent's Choice Awards. https://www.parentschoice.org/product/spot-on-science/
  • Heffley, L (2019). Review of Kazoo Magazine. Parent's Choice Awards. http://archive.parentschoice.org/product.cfm?product_id=36152&StepNum=1&award=aw 
  • Heuscher, S (2019). Review of Project Here Games. Parent's Choice. http://archive.parentschoice.org/product.cfm?product_id=36253&StepNum=1&award=aw 
  • Johnson, M. (2019, August). Pencils, Pens & Brushes. Children's Bookwatch. Retrieved from https://link-gale-com.libproxy.uncg.edu/apps/doc/A600038763/LitRC?u=gree35277&sid=LitRC&xid=0be188bc
  • Nixon, J (n.d.) Education Article Databases Libguide. Purdue University. https://guides.lib.purdue.edu/education
  • Oldenburg, D (2015). Review of Brainspace magazine. Parent's Choice. http://archive.parentschoice.org/product.cfm?product_id=33184&StepNum=1&award=aw  
  • Oldenburg, D (2019). Review of Wow in The World podcast. Parent's Choice. https://www.parentschoice.org/product/wow-in-the-world-2/
  • Wirsing, K (n.d.) Review of How Stuff Works website. Common Sense Media. https://www.commonsensemedia.org/website-reviews/howstuffworks 
  • Ucciferri, F (2019, July 23). The 25 Best Podcasts for Kids. Common Sense Media. https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/the-best-podcasts-for-kids 

 

  • American Library Association (2017, February 27). "Children and Libraries: The Journal of ALSC", American Library Association,  http://www.ala.org/alsc/publications-resources/cal
  • Goodreads (2017, January). Review of the book The Total Inventors Manual.  Goodreads. https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36175639-the-total-inventor-s-manual
  • Greatschool Staff (2016, March 11). What does the NAEYC seal of approval mean?. Greatschools. http://www.greatschools.org/gk/articles/what-does-the-naeyc-seal-of-approval-mean/ 
  • Kirkus Reviews (2019, June 15). Review of the book Plant, Sow, Make, & Grow. Mud-tastic Activities for Budding GardenersKirkus Reviews. LXXXVII (12), 98.
  • Kirkus Reviews (2019, June 15). Review of the book Code This! Puzzles, Games, Challenges, and Computer Coding Concepts for the Problem Solver in YouKirkus Reviews. LXXXVII (12), 125.
  • Kirkus Reviews (2019, August 15). Review of the book Discovering ArchitectureKirkus Reviews. LXXXVII (16), 149.
  • Kirkus Reviews (2019, August 15). Review of the book How Do Computers Follow InstructionsKirkus Reviews. LXXXVII (16), 176.
  • Kirkus Reviews (2019, September 1). Review of the book Meditation for Kids. How To Clear Your Head and Calm Your MindKirkus Reviews. LXXXVII (17), 107.
  • Kirkus Reviews (2019, September 15). Review of the book The Big Book Of Everything You Need To Get The Job DoneKirkus Reviews. LXXXVII (18), 95. 
  • Northcentral University (n.d.) Early Childhood Education Libguide. https://ncu.libguides.com/c.php?g=627430&p=4376912