Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Exploratorium : Early Literacy

This is the LibGuide for the 610 Public Library Group.

Early Literacy

                

While research and trends in early literacy advance each year, one thing has remained consistent throughout the decades:  reading is fundamental.  This curated guide provides a variety of resources for parents, guardians, and caregivers to use with their young and emerging readers.  From suggested books to literacy resources to digital media, let us help you instill a life-long love of reading in your child.

Books

Reviews for Finding Winnie:

Kirkus Review

School Library Journal Review

Review from Publisher's Weekly 

2019 Notable Children's Books List (Association for Library Service to Children)

2019 Notable Children's Books List (Association for Library Service to Children)

2019 Notable Children's Books List (Association for Library Service to Children)

2019 Notable Children's Books List (Association for Library Service to Children)

2019 Notable Children's Books List (Association for Library Service to Children)

E-resources

​NoveList Plus is a database accessible through NC LIVE and the State Library of North Carolina.  This allows you to research books, authors, genres, and find content suitable for your young reader based on subjects, issues, and reading level as well as investigate read-alikes.

Provided by NC LIVE via State Library of North Carolina

 

 

 

 

Raising Readers is a program based in Maine but accessible online.  In collaboration with healthcare providers and the Libra Foundation, Raising Readers offers early literacy education and supportive resources for starting your child off on the right reading path.  Rich with information, this website includes book activity kits and doctor-recommended reading lists as well as research for how parents and caregivers.

Recommended by Children's Librarian, Madison County Public Libraries

Referral:  Maine Health

Eugene Public Library in Oregon provides parents and caregivers a guide to Early Literacy.  With a curated list of resources, books, and activities for each level of development from 0 to 6 years old, this guide is a useful and practical tool.

Recommended by Children's Librarian, Madison County Public Libraries                                                                    

 

Teaching Our Youngest: A guide for pre-school teachers and child care and family providers is provided through the Early Childhood-Head Start Task Force U.S. Department of Education U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.  In this free guide there is scientific-based research on early literacy and strategies along with books and resources to support young learners in a pre-school setting and at home. "Real" conversations with teachers in the field are also printed throughout.

This guide is provided through United For Libraries, a division of American Library Association.


Reach Out and Read is a non-profit organization that started as a grant from IMLS. Two pediatricians in the Boston area embraced incorporating early literacy skills as part of wellness visits with children and their caregivers.  Books are given to children at specific wellness visits, and doctors instruct parents on the importance of reading aloud to their child(ren) as part of good brain development and family bonding. The Reach Out and Read website provides doctor-provided book lists, audio books, links to other resources, as well as tips for families incorporating early literacy into their child's wellness.

Referral: The Aspen Institute and Institute of Museum and Library Sciences


American Library Association and Children's Book Council formed a joint committee with the help of Association of Library Services to Children to create book lists each year called "Building a Home Library". These lists are recommended for specific age groups and suggest classic reads, hidden gems, and culturally diverse titles.  While these are great for building a home library for children, they are also titles parents and caregivers can find at their local libraries to read to the youngest readers in their lives.

Referral:  American Library Association (Association of Library Services to Children) and Children's Book Council 

Videos

Reach out and Read is a nonprofit that puts books in the hands of pediatricians to share with their new patients conveying the message that reading is just as important to good health as your check-up.

Keisha Siriboe is the director of content and programming for Reading is Fundamental.

Journals

Journal of Early Childhood Literacy:  Since its founding in 2001, this peer reviewed journal has been at the forefront of early literacy. This international publication offers a range of voices and an interdisciplinary approach to methodologies and practices for readers 0-8 years of age.

Referral:  University of North Carolina at Greensboro

 

School Library Journal:  A standard since the 1950s, this journal is a staple for school and public libraries that includes book reviews, tips on integrating books into school curriculum, and information literacy.

Referral:  University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Blogs

34 of the Best Picture Books of 2019 so far is from The Children's Book Review, which has been endorsed by ALSC. This blog provides caregivers and family insight to the best books for early literacy so far this year and provides rationale for its making the list.

Best Apps Available for Helping Your Child Read is one page on a blog worth following: the ALSC blog. Monitored by ALSC, the bloggers on this site are involved in teaching, tutoring, and literacy services for children. This page specifically identifies apps useful for building 21st century skills while teaching your child the fundamentals of reading.

ALSC is a division of ALA.

Digital Media/Apps

​Moshi Twilight Sleep Stories was released in conjunction with Calm, the top app for mindfulness.  These lilting bedtime rhymes are accompanied by lulling music that calms and soothes kids into an easier sleep.  Calming kid-friendly meditation and mindfulness moments are offered through this app as well that aides in calming bedtime anxieties and sets the tone for an easier transition from a busy day to a restful night.

Download from the Google Play Store or the Apple App Store

Referral:  ALSC Notable Children's Digital Media, 2019
 

Relationshapes is an award-winning, parents' choice app that helps your child begin to learn early math skills while developing fine-motor skills.  Matching geometric shapes is just one aspect of the app. The other aspect is putting the shapes together to create pictures. Help your young one create while developing visual-spatial reasoning.

Available in the Google Play store or the Apple App Store

Referral:  ALSC Notable Children's Digital Media, 2019

Librarian

Profile Photo
Shawna Bryce
Contact:
25 Library Street
Mars Hill, NC
28754
828.689.5183

References

100-Books-to-Read-Kgarten. (n.d.). [PDF File]. Retrieved October 1, 2019, from http://www.lfpl.org/kids/pdf/100-Books-to-Read-Kgarten.pdf

Armbruster, B., Lehr, F., Osborn, J. (2002). Teaching our Youngest. [PDF] Retrieved from https://www2.ed.gov/teachers/how/early/teachingouryoungest/teachingouryoungest.pdf

The Best Apps Available for Helping Your Kids To Read. (2019). Retrieved October 19, 2019, from ALSC Blog website: https://www.alsc.ala.org/blog/2019/08/the-best-apps-available-for-helping-your-kids-to-read/

Book & Media Awards. (n.d.). Retrieved October 3, 2019, from http://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia

By Grade: Kindergarten—Louisville Free Public Library. (n.d.). Retrieved October 3, 2019, from http://library.booksite.com/6416/nl/?list=CNL4&group=EB86

Children’s Book Review: DON’T LET THE PIGEON DRIVE THE BUS! by Mo Willems, (n.d.). Retrieved October 19, 2019, from https://www.publishersweekly.com/978-0-7868-1988-1

Diverse voices: The 50 best culturally diverse books (2014). The Guardian. Retrieved September 30, 2019, from https://www.theguardian.com/childrens-books-site/2014/oct/13/50-best-culturally-diverse-childrens-books

Early Literacy. (2009). Retrieved October 16, 2019, from United for Libraries website: http://www.ala.org/united/products_services/booksforbabies/earlyliteracy

Eugene Public Library.  (n.d.) Early Literacy: Home. Retrieved October 16, 2019, from //eugene.libguides.com/earlyliteracy/home

Finding Winnie by Lindsay Mattick , Sophie Blackall. (2015).  Kirkus Reviews. Retrieved October 4, 2019, from https://www.kirkusreviews.com/book-reviews/lindsay-mattick/finding-winnie/

Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear by Lindsay Mattick and Sophie Blackall. (2015).  SLJ Review. Retrieved October 4, 2019, from https://www.slj.com?detailStory=finding-winnie-the-true-story-of-the-worlds-most-famous-bear-by-lindsay-mattick-and-sophie-blackall-slj-review

Henkes, Kevin. (2018). A Parade of Elephants.

Journal of Early Childhood Literacy. (n.d.). Retrieved October 3, 2019, from https://journals.sagepub.com/home/ecl

Leadership Team. (n.d.). Retrieved October 4, 2019, from https://www.rif.org/about-rif/leadership-team-rif/keisha-siriboe

Mattick, Lindsay. (2015). Finding Winnie:  The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear.

Milgrim, David. (2018). See Pip Flap.

Notable Children’s Books—2019 (n.d.).  Retrieved September 30, 2019, from http://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/notalists/ncb

Notable Children’s Digital Media—2019 (2018). Retrieved October 1, 2019, from http://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/notalists/ncdm

NoveList Promotion Kit. (n.d.). Retrieved October 4, 2019, from https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/NoveList-Promotion-Kit?language=en_US

Reading Lists – Children’s Book Council. (n.d.). Retrieved September 30, 2019, from https://www.cbcbooks.org/readers/reading-lists/

Reach out and Read. (2017 October 5). Why Early Literacy Matters. [video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ilazGpNlsGw

Reach Out and Read. (n.d.). Retrieved October 4, 2019, from http://www.reachoutandread.org/

Schulze, B. (2019, April 3.) 34 of the Best Picture Books of 2019 so Far: The Children’s Book Review. [web log] Retrieved September 28, 2019, from https://www.thechildrensbookreview.com/weblog/2019/04/34-of-the-best-picture-books-of-2019-so-far.html

Sidman, Joyce. (2018). The Girl Who Drew Butterflies.

Tabor, Corey. (2018). Fox the Tiger.

TEDx Talks. (2018 July 24).  Why we all need to start reading aloud to our kids. [video file].  Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VsAtwkHRorY

Top Ten Most Challenged Books Lists (2013). Retrieved September 3, 2019, from http://www.ala.org/advocacy/bbooks/frequentlychallengedbooks/top10

Willems, Mo. (2003). Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus.

Woodson, Jacqueline.  (2018).  The Day You Begin.