It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Visual Arts- History & Images Research Guide: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Includes the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. With over 20,000 articles and 19,000 images from ancient to contemporary art.
Print Resources
The Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists by Erika Langmuir; Norbert Lynton
ISBN: 9780300087024
Publication Date: 2000-08-11
The Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists is a superb reference work dealing with all aspects of Western art from 1300 to the present day. It provides information on painters, sculptors, and graphic artists, technical processes, terminology, theory, schools, movements, patrons and collecting, and much more. There are also extended conceptual entries ranging over such subjects as abstraction, allegory, genres, iconography, illusionism, minimalism, realism, and symbolism. Written by Erika Langmuir and Norbert Lynton, the 3,000 entries are unusually readable and lucid, providing vivid characterizations of artistic styles and artists. Entries vary between short and encyclopedic; major artists and artists whose careers or talents have recently been reassessed or who seem to merit reassessment are given a fuller treatment. There is extensive cross-referencing between entries.
The Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists by