Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIS 610 Special Libraries Group: Appalachian Cultural Special Collection: Landmarks, Food, & Fun Facts

The purpose of this guide is showcase the historical artifacts and other reference and resource materials relating to the history, culture, heritage and entertainment of Western North Carolina.

Appalachian Landmarks, Food, &Fun Facts

This collection of Appalachian resources of Landmarks from Chimney Rock to the many hiking trails within the state of North Carolina and the collection also explores Appalachian cuisines recipes of "mountain home cooking". Additional interesting facts about the Appalachian landmarks and historical sites.

(Grandfather Mountain, NC)

Databases Appalachian Culinary and Tourism

Appalachian Landmark and Trails Website

Angela's Bio

Hello,

My name is Angela, currently in pursuit of my MLIS degree in hope for an opportunity in the public, special, or academic library. I have (volunteered and salaried paid) worked in different library environments since about the 3rd grade. I've always had a love for books and technology my decision to become a librarian was the technology component that persuade me to pursue a future opportunity. I enjoy traveling (visiting libraries), and collecting watches, books, and participating in cultural events.

Appalachian Recipe Books

Publishers Weekly:
/* Starred Review */ Sauceman's latest is a journey through deep into the heart of Appalachia with stories of iconic dishes and  the people behind them in this folksy collection of vignettes and  recipes. Opening with an eloquent tribute to his grandmother's comfort food with her recipe for stuffed bell peppers included, Sauceman's goal is to engender an appreciation for Appalachia's traditions and  people along with the recipes and  history of the region's food. There's the story of Big Bob Gibson, the man behind a mayonnaise-based barbecue sauce, the Clinchfield Senior Adult Center's addictive apple relish, and  the curious evolution of the famous Sunburst Trout Farms, which started out as a mink farm and  is now in the trout business. Other notable recipes include the Roanoke Hotel's classic peanut soup and  the state of Alabama's beloved Lane cake. Sauceman thoughtfully includes contact information for each of the businesses or restaurants profiled, enabling curious readers to both seek out the best red-eye gravy or, if they so choose, buy the best cast-iron pan to cook it in. The result is a charming homage to Appalachian cuisine that manages to capture the both character of its people and  their appetites. (Apr.) --Staff (Reviewed February 17, 2014) (Publishers Weekly, vol 261, issue 07, p)

 

Publishers Weekly:
/* Starred Review */ Lundy (The Festive Table), a founder of the Southern Foodways Alliance and the Appalachian  Food Summit, clearly has a deep understanding and appreciation for Southern cooking. Defining Appalachia as an  area encompassing Kentucky, the Virginias, Tennessee, southern Ohio, North Carolina, southern Ohio, and northern Georgia, she provides is an  elegantly photographed and lovingly narrated appreciation of Appalachian  cuisine and the people who grow and prepare it. Drawing from family recipes , her own creations, and dishes from vintage cookbooks, Lundy takes the reader on a virtual tour of the area, stopping to explain the difference between salad and sallet (a specific way of cooking greens), touring regional museums, and talking shop with  a handful of small, local producers. She introduces readers to simple dishes such as buttermilk cucumber salad, skillet corn, icebox green strawberry pickles, and roasted candy roaster squash, a regional favorite. Though she has a tendency to meander a bit (the instructions for skillet-fried chicken and milk gravy take up a page and a half), Lundy is a warm and charming guide with  a deep-seated love and respect for the region and its approach to cuisine. Fans of locally sourced foods and Southern cooking will find a lot to like here, as Lundy does a terrific job of showcasing Appalachia’s breadth and depth. (Aug.) --Staff (Reviewed 07/04/2016) (Publishers Weekly, vol 263, issue 27, p)

Appalachian Documentaries on Food and Landmarks (Media)

The Appalachian Food Evangelist Complete First Episode

Published on Oct 31, 2016--The Appalachian Food Evangelist with Chef Dale Hawkins.

AudioFile:
If you've ever harbored the idea of hiking the Appalachian Trail from beginning to end, then this book will either spur you on or convince you of the folly of your pretensions. More than a travelogue, this work is a personal story and a testament to endurance and introspection. Christopher Lee has a deep, clear, authoritative voice, and he does his best to evolve into someone we want to be with for the duration of this journey. He partially succeeds but, overall, sounds too much like an informational narrator, and not a travel companion. Lee does a good job describing the trail, and he moves the story along energetically. This book, however, needs a narrator with a slightly quirkier personality in order to reflect its author and his experience. R.I.G. (c) AudioFile 2013, Portland, Maine

Citations

Appalachian Trail Conservancy. (2018). Retrieved from http://appalachiantrail.org/

BatchGeo LLC. (2018) "Mapping the Appalachian Trail: Landmarks and Milestones – BatchGeo Blog." Retrieved from http://blog.batchgeo.com/appalachian-trail/  

Brehaut, L. (2017, Apr 26). "Rooted in place and history; appalachian food culture is tied to the land,Laura Brehaut learns from cookbook author." The Vancouver Sun Retrieved from: ProQuest Database, (2018). http://www.nclive.org

City of Hickory, NC. (2018) "Things North Carolina is Famous For | City of Hickory, North Carolina.". Retrieved from http://www.hickorync.gov/content/things-north-carolina-famous

Daddio, J. (2017, June 15). Appalachian Food Revolution. Retrieved from https://www.blueridgeoutdoors.com/go-outside/appalachian-food-revolution/

Economic Development Partnership of North Carolina. (2018). "Places to Visit in the North Carolina Mountains". Retrieved from https://www.visitnc.com/mountains

Engelhardt, E. S. D. (2017). Trying to Get Appalachia Less Wrong: A Modest Approach. Southern Cultures 23(1), 4-9. The University of North Carolina Press. Retrieved November 3, 2018, from Project MUSE database.

Frank, D. (2017). USGS Geology and Geophysics. Retrieved from https://geomaps.wr.usgs.gov/parks/province/appalach.html

Gale Cengage. Culinary Arts Collection Database. (2018). NC LIVE | NC LIVE. Retrieved from https://www.nclive.org/

Gale Cengage. Hospitality and Tourism Collection Database. (2018). NC LIVE | NC LIVE. Retrieved from https://www.nclive.org/

Hawkins, Chef Dale, The Appalachian Food Evangelist Complete First Episode [Video file]. (2016, October 31). Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fgh0bugPGoU

Junior League of Asheville. (1997). Mountain elegance: A collection of favorite recipes. Asheville, NC: Bright Mountain Books.

Lillo, Charles. (n.d.) (photo) "Forrest Gump Road, Grandfather Mountain, NC. "Living The Dream Cabin Rentals". Retrieved: (2018), http://livingthedreamcabin.com/grandfather-mountain/

Lundy, R. (2016). Victuals: An Appalachian journey, with recipes.  New York: Random House 

Marketplace Restaurant (2018). “The Marketplace Restaurant (Appalachia Cuisines Specialty)” https://marketplace-restaurant.com/

Miller, D., & Lane, C. (2012). AWOL on the Appalachian Trail. Grand Haven, MI: Brilliance Audio.

Museum of Appalachia - A Living Museum (2018) “Museum Restaurant” http://www.museumofappalachia.org/restaurant/  

Nordahl, D. (2015). Eating Appalachia: Rediscovering regional American flavors. Chicago: Chicago Review Press.

Page, L. G., & Wigginton, E. (2001). The Foxfire book of Appalachian cookery. New York: Gramercy Books.

The Revivalist Blog (2018). Retrieved from http://therevivalist.info/

Sauceman, F. W. (2014). Buttermilk & Bible burgers: More stories from the kitchens of Appalachia.

Simply Appalachian. (2015). "Appalachian Ciders and Wines" Retrieved from http://www.simplyappalachian.com/article/2015/12/appalachian-ciders-and-wines

Smoky Mountain Living. “Celebrating the Southern Appalachians.” (2018, October 29). Retrieved from http://www.smliv.com/

Journals and Articles

Appalachian Blogs

Appalachia, North Carolina Fun Facts and Trivia