Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to find articles about demographic data
The following databases are suggested starting points for finding articles about and including demographic data.
2019 Revision of World Population Prospects
The 2019 Revision of World Population Prospects is the twenty-sixth round of official United Nations population estimates and projections that have been prepared by the Population Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat.
Country Studies: Library of Congress
Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world.
data.census.gov is the primary way to access Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more.
With archival material dating back to 1970, GenderWatch™ provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition
Historical Statistics of the United States has long been the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. ""This definitive reference work contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present."
Published since 1935, a primary reference tool for the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population topics. Available on this website is a searchable and browsable database containing 40,243 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-1999. Population Index was published quarterly by the Office of Population Research, Princeton University, but has now ceased publication. (Source: vendor website.)Note: Population Index has ceased publication, but the years 1986-1999 are still available for searching.
Database of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
NOTE: MUST CREATE ACCOUNT. A web-based mapping application that enables users to quickly and easily create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business and marketing data. The data is from EASI Analytics, Mediamark Research Inc., and Simmons Study of Media Markets and is derived from government and other sources. Variables include demographics, housing, income, retail sales, consumer expenditures, consumer price index, quality of life, employment and establishments by industry, census data from 1980 to present and future projections, and EASI/MRI market research data. Export high resolution map images
Provides web-based access to United States Census data from 1790 to the present, and to other U.S. and international data, with the ability to make tables and interactive maps easily or export data for analysis. Data include the most commonly used variables and geographies.
Database covering over 2500 journals in sociology, both theoretical and applied, and related disciplines including anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Articles in 30 different languages from about 55 countries. Coverage 1963 - Present
Provides simultaneous access to 14 statistical databases from the United Nations and other international organizations through one interface. Areas of coverage include agriculture, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population, tourism and trade. Includes Millennium Development Goals indicators, and UN Key Global Indicators.
Bimonthly peer-reviewed academic journal covering issues related to population and demography.
Journal of Demographic Economics
Peer-reviewed academic journal at the intersection of demography and economics.
Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies
JEMS publishes research on all forms of migration and its consequences, including ethnic conflict, discrimination, racism and policies of integration.
Population and Environment
Peer-reviewed academic journal covering research on links between population, natural resources, and the natural environment.
Population health metrics
Population Health Metrics covers a broad range of topics encompassing health state measurement and valuation, summary measures of population health, descriptive epidemiology at the population level, burden of disease and injury analysis, disease and risk factor modeling for populations, and comparative assessment of risks to health at the population level.